Skip Navigation

Special Collections | Franco American Genealogy

This is a guide to selected resources concerning Franco-American Genealogy. Unless otherwise indicated, these materials are located in the Special Collections Department or are available on the Internet.  These sources have been arranged into the following categories:


General:

Carpenter, Kenneth E. The Franco-Americans in Maine. Brunswick, Me., Bowdoin College, 1958.
Maine F 184 F85 C3 1958

Le Club Calumet. Semi-centennial Celebration History, 1922-1972 : Fifty Years of Progress. Augusta, Me., Le Club Calumet, 1972.
Maine F 30 F8 C54

The First Franco-Americans : New England Life Histories From the Federal Writers' Project, 1938-1939. Orono, Me., University of Maine at Orono Press, 1985.
Maine E 184 F8 D67 1985

Guignard, Michael J. La Foi, la Langue, la Culture : the Franco-Americans of Biddeford, Maine. M.J. Guignard, 1982.
Maine F 29 B58 G83 1982

Hendrickson, Dyke. Quiet Presence : Dramatic, First-Person Accounts : The True Stories of Franco-Americans in New England. Portland, Me., G. Gannett Pub. Co., 1980.
Maine F 15 F85 H46

Immigrants From the North : Franco-Americans Recall the Settlement of their Canadian Families in the Mill Towns of New England. Bath, Me., Hyde School, 1982.
Maine F 15 F85 I544

Lawton, R. J. Franco-Americans of the State of Maine, U.S.A., and Their Achievements : Historical, Descriptive, and Biographical. Lewiston, Me, H.F. Roy, 1915.
Maine F 30 F85 L3 1915

Violette, Maurice. The Franco-Americans : a Franco-American's Chronicle of Historical and Cultural Environment : Augusta Revisited. New York, Vantage Press, c1976.
Maine F 29 A92 V56

Madore, Nelson and Barry Rodrigue, eds. Voyages: A Maine Franco-American Reader. Gardiner, Me.: Tilbury House; Lewiston: Franco-American Collection, University of Southern Maine, 2007.
Maine F 30 F8 V695 2007

To top        

Bibliographies:

Frost, John E. Maine Genealogy : a Bibliographical Guide. Portland, Me, Maine Historical Society, c1985.
Maine Z 1291 F76 1985

Haskell, John D. Maine, a Bibliography of its History. Hanover, University Press of New England, 1983.
Maine Z 1291 C65 1983

Maine State Library. Genealogie Franco-Canadienne, Acadienne & Franco-Americaine a la Maine State Library - Genealogy of French Canada, Acadia & Franco-America at the Maine State Library. Maine State Library, 1986.
St. Docs. L 69.8:G26/986

 To top        

Family Histories:

Chasse, Joseph Chasse, 1995. Madawaska, Me., Madawaska Historical Society, 1995.
Maine CS 71 C488 1995

Cyr, Leo G. A History & Genealogy of our Family, a Branch of the Sire (Cyr) Family in the New World. Bethesda, Md., L.G. Cyr, 1985.
Maine CS 71 C999 1985

Dube, Linda. Bouchard Genealogy. Maine, 1990. (3 volumes)
Maine CS71 B692 1990

Lindsay, Betty A. Lausier. A Historical Genealogy for Roy-DesJardins Dit Lauzier, Dionne, Gendreau, Boucher. Spartanburg, S.C., Reprint Co., Publishers, 1993.
Maine CS 71 L376 1993

Leavitt, Robert E. History of a Lavoie/Leavitt Family. 1982.
Maine CS 71 L4394 1982

        To top        

Town, County and Regional Histories:

Albert, Julie D. Madawaska Centennial, 1869-1969. Madawaska, Me, 1969?
Maine F 29 M24 A4

Albert, Thomas, 1879-1924. Histoire du Madawaska : d'Apres les Recherches Historiques de Patrick Therriault et les Notes Manuscrites de Prudent L. Mercure. Quebec, Imprimerie Franciscaine Missionaire, 1920.
Maine F 1044 M3 A3

---------------History of Madawaska : According to the Historical Researches of Patrick Therriault and the Handwritten Notes of Prudent L. Mercure. Quebec, Can., Imprimerie Franciscaine Missionaire, 1920.
Maine F 1044 M3 A313

Collins, Charles W. The Acadians of Madawaska, Maine. Boston, T. A. Whalen, 1902.
Maine F 29 M24 C6 1902

Fairfield, Roy P. Sands, Spindles, and Steeples : a History of Saco, Maine. Portland, Me., House of Falmouth, 1956.
Maine F 29 S122 F3 1956

Fecteau, Joseph Charles Albert. The French Canadian Community of Waterville, Maine. Orono, University of Maine, 1952.
Univ 1952 F315

Hodgkin, Douglas I. Lewiston Memories : a Bicentennial Pictorial. State College, Pa., Jostens Printing & Publishing, 1994.
Maine F 29 L63 H6 1994

Leane, John J. A History of Rumford, Maine, 1774-1972. Rumford, Me., Rumford Publishing Co., 1972.
Maine F 29 R9 L4

Lewiston Historical Commission. Historic Lewiston : Franco-American Origins. Auburn,Me., Central Maine Vocational Technical Institute, 1974.
Maine F 29 L677 L4

Madawaska Historical Society. Madoueskak, 1785-1985 : a Pictorial History, Recapturing the Past. 1985.
Maine F 29 M24 M32 1985

Nos Histoires de l'Ile. Nos Histoires de l'Ile : Livre de Cuisine. Old Town, Me, Nos Histoires de l'Ile.
Maine TX 715 N67

Pelletier, Martine A. People and Places of Van Buren in the Early 1900's. 1976.
Maine F 29 V2 P4

----------------Van Buren History. Madawaska, Me, St. John Valley Pub. Co., 1979.
Maine F 29 V2 P44

Turner, Loretta M. Biddeford: a Franco-American Experience in Old Photographs. Dover, NH, Alan Sutton Publishing, Inc., 1993.
Maine F 29 B58 T87 1993

Turner, Philip B. Rooster : The Story of Aroostook County. Bar Harbor, Me., Acadia
Publishing Co., 1988.
Maine F 27 A7 T8 1988

 To top        

Vital Records:

Chenard, Robert E. Marriages of St. Joseph's Catholic Church, Old Town, Maine (1860- 1950): Including 1836-1892 Franco-American Marriages Recorded in the Civil Registers of Bangor, Bradley, Brewer, Old Town, and Orono and Death Records of St. Joseph to 1946. Waterville, Me., R.E. Chenard, 1993.
Maine F 29 O44 C54 1993

Chenard, Robert E. St. Francis de Sales Catholic Church, Waterville, Maine. Waterville, Me, French Connection, 1994.
Maine F 29 W33 C48 1994

Dictionnaire Genealogique du Madawaska : Repertoire des Mariages des Paroisses de la Vallee Superieure de la Riviere Saint John au Nouveau Brunswick (La Region Indiquee Ci-haut Comprend le Diocese d'Edmundston, Ainsi que le Comte d'Aroostook-Maine. 1979 8 volumes.
Maine Folio CS 88 N37 D53

Franco-American Genealogical Society of York County. Marriages, St. Mary's Parish : 1850-1989 Biddeford, Maine. Biddeford, Me., Franco-American Genealogical Society of York County Me, 1989?
Maine F 29 B58 M29

Guimond, Leon. Mariages de Frenchville, Maine (Sainte-Luce), 1843-1970. Sillery, Que., B. Pontbriand, 1987.
Maine F 29 F87 G83 1987

Labonte, Youville. Births (1852-1925) : Marriages of St. Anthony, Jackman, ME (1892- 1980) and of St. Sebastian, Madison, ME (1900-1980). Auburn, Me., Y. Labonte, 1982.
Maine F 29 J2 L3 1982

---------------- Marriages of St. Augustine, Augusta, Me. (1888-1981). Lewiston, Me., Y. Labonte, 1983.
Maine F 29 A92 L3 1983

Vital Records of Lisbon, Maine Prior to 1892. Camden, Me., Picton Press, 1995. Maine F 29 L68 V58 1995

Vital Records of Old Town, Maine, Prior to 1892. Camden, Me., Picton Press, 1996.
Maine F 29 O5 G73 1996

 To top        

Church Histories:

Centennial : 1871-1971 : St. David Parish, St. David, Maine. St. David, Me., Valley Publishing Co. 1971?
Maine BX 4603 M2 S25

The History of the Catholic Church in Old Town, Maine. Old Town, Me, Holy Family Parish, 1994.
Maine BX 1418 O44 H57 1994

One Hundredth Anniversary of Saint Joseph's Church, Lewiston, Maine, 1857-1957.
Maine BX 4603 L65 S35

Plourde, Antonin M. Paroisse Saint-Pierre et Saint-Paul 1971 Centenaire : Album Souvenir. Lewiston, Me., 1971.
Maine BX 4603 L65 S363 1971

St. John the Baptist Church. Souvenir du 50ieme Anniversaire de la Paroisse St. Jean Baptiste Brunswick, Maine 1877-1927 Brunswick, Me., Brunswick Publishing Co., 1927.
Maine BX 4603 B95 S35 1986

Waterville Maine Census of 1890. Taconnett Falls Chapter, Maine Genealogy Society, 1988.
Maine HA 417 W37 W37 1890b

 To top        

Maps and Atlases:

Colby & Stuart. Colby's Atlas of the State of Maine : Including Statistics and Descriptions of its History, Educational System, Geology, Railroads, Natural Resources, Summer Resorts and Manufacturing Interests. Houlton, Me., Colby & Stuart, 1887.
Maine Folio G 1215 C6 1887

Comstock & Cline. Atlas of Penobscot County, Maine : From Recent and Actual Surveys & Records. New York, Comstock & Cline, 1875.
Maine Folio G 1218 P4 S5

Halfpenny, H. E. Atlas of Kennebec County, Maine. Philadelphia : Caldwell & Halfpenny, 1879.
Maine Folio G 1218 H138k

Roe, Frederick B., 1845-1905. Atlas of Aroostook County, Maine. Philadelphia, Roe & Colby, 1877.
Maine Folio G 1218 A6 R64

Sanford, Everts & Co. Atlas and History of Androscoggin County, Maine. Philadelphia, 1873.
Maine Folio G 1218 A5 1873 S3

Sanford, Everts & Co. Atlas of York County, Maine. Philadelphia, 1872.
Maine Folio G 3733 Y6 S3

 To top        

Periodicals:

Echoes : the Voice of Aroostook, the Crown of Maine. Blaine, Me. : Echoes Press, 1988- 

Le Forum. University of Maine at Orono. Franco-American Centre. 1974-

 To top        

Material in other Fogler Library locations:

Archives de la province de Quebec. Rapport de l'Archiviste de la Province de Quebec. Quebec, Ls-A. Proulx, 1921-1961.
Stacks
CD 3645 Q26 1927-60

Arsenault, Bona. L'Acadie des Ancetres : Avec la Genealogie des Premieres Familles Acadiennes. Quebec, Conseil de la vie francaise en Amerique : Universite Laval, 1955.
Stacks F 1038 A69

---------------History of the Acadians. Quebec, Le Conseil de la vie Francaise en Amerique 1966.
Stacks F 1038 A73

---------------Histoire et Genealogie des Acadiens. Quebec, Lemeac, 1978.
Stacks F 1038 A72 1978 v.1-v.6

Bergeron, Adrien. Le Grand Arrangement des Acadiens au Quebec : Notes de Petite-Histoire, Genealogies, France-Acadie-Quebec de 1625 a 1925. Montreal, Canada : Editions Elysee, 1981.
Stacks CS 88 Q4 B47 1981 v.1-v.8

Jette, Rene. Dictionnaire Genealogique des Familles du Quebec. Montreal, Presses de l'Universite de Montreal, 1983.
Reference CS 88Q4 J47 1983

Repertoire des Actes de Bapteme, Mariage, Sepulture et des Recensements du Quebec Ancien. Montreal, Canada : Presses de l'Universite de Montreal.
Stacks CS 88 Q4 R46 v.1-v.22

Tanguay, Cyprien, 1819-1902. Dictionnaire Genealogique des Familles Canadiennes [microform] : Depuis la Fondation de la Colonie Jusqu'a Nos Jours. Montreal, E. Senecal, 1887.
Microforms Fiche CIHM 24481

United States and Canadian Census are available in the Government Documents area.
Consult with Reference or Government Documents Staff for more information..

Be sure to consult URSUS for other resources located elsewhere in Fogler Library

 To top        

Electronic Resources:

Acadian Genealogy Homepage
http://www.acadian.org/

The Special Collections Guide to Manuscript Collections
http://www.library.umaine.edu/speccoll/manulist.htm

Franco-American Oral Histories
http://francoamericanarchives.org/

Other Locations:

These other libraries and historical repositories in the state will provide you with valuable information as well.

Acadian Archives / Archives acadiennes, University of Maine at Fort Kent
http://www.umfk.maine.edu/archives/

Bangor Public Library, Harlow Street, Bangor
http://www.bpl.lib.me.us/

Franco-American Genealogical Society of York County, P. O. Box 180, Biddeford, ME 04005

University of Southern Maine Franco-American Collection, 51 Westminster Street, Lewiston
http://usm.maine.edu/franco

Maine Folklife Center, Stevens Hall, University of Maine
http://www.umaine.edu/folklife.htm

Maine Historical Society, 485 Congress Street, Portland
http://www.mainehistory.org/

Maine State Archives, Cultural Building, Augusta
http://www.maine.gov/sos/arc/

Maine State Library, Cultural Building, Augusta
http://www.maine.gov/msl/

University of Maine Franco American Studies
http://umaine.edu/francoamericanstudies/

To top        

 

The Special Collections Department is located on the third floor of the Raymond H. Fogler Library, University of Maine, and is open Monday, Thursday, Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.; Tuesday, Wednesday from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. and Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Hours when classes are not in session are: Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.; Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Please call the department at (207) 581-1686 or email SpC@umit.maine.edu for further information.

 

Return to top level page


Special Collections Staff: spc@umit.maine.edu | Revised: 06/20/2014
5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729
Phone: 207-581-1661 | Fax: 207-581-1653
© Copyright 2000-2014
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
207-581-1865