Fogler Library

In-House Research Guide: Grants

This is a list of some of the many sources in the library and on the internet which give information on how and where to get grants. This guide covers support for research, performance, special projects, etc. Check the guide on Scholarships for information on sources of support for graduate or undergraduate study.

Handbooks & Manuals

(Check URSUS under subjects "proposal writing in research," "fund raising," "research grants" for books in the stacks)

The "how to" grants manual Ref HG177 .B38 1999
Proposal planning and writing Ref HG177.5.U6 M56 1998
Proposals that work : a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals Ref Q180.55.P7 L63 2000


General Guides

IRIS (Illinois Researcher Information Service)
SRA International Grants Web
Fundsnet
Annual register of grant support Ref AS 911 A2 A67
Grants register Ref LB 2338 G7
Directory of research grants Ref LB 2338 D57
Financial aid for research and creative activities abroad Ref LB2337.2 .F554 1999-01
Financial aid for study and training abroad Ref LB2337.2 .F556 1999-2001


Government Support

Catalog of Federal domestic assistance Gov Doc PrEx 2.20:
FedBizOpps
ScienceWise: FEDIX
U.S. Department of Education Grants and Contracts Information
National Science Foundation
Free money from the federal government for small businesses and entrepreneurs Ref HG4027.7 .B6 1996
Government assistance almanac Ref HC110.P63 G69 1999-2000
Funding sources for community and economic development Ref HN90.C6 F85 1999

Foundations

The Foundation Center
Council on Foundations
Foundations.org
Canadian directory to foundations (2 vols.) Ref AS911.A2 C36 1988/89
Foundation directory Ref AS911.A2 F65
Foundation grants index on CD-ROM Ref 2001
Guide to U.S. foundations, their trustees, officers, and donors Ref AS911.A2 N37
National directory of corporate giving Ref HV89 .N26 7th ed. 2001
Corporate 500. The Directory of corporate philanthropy Ref HV97.A3 C63 11th ed. 1992/93
Foundation grants to individuals Ref LB 2336 F62

Maine

The Maine Philanthropy Center
Maine Department of Economic and Community Development
Finance Authority of Maine
Directory of Maine foundations Ref AS 911 A2 D5 1994
Directory of Maine grantmakers Ref HV98.M2 D5 1998
Corporate philanthropy in New England: Maine    Special Collections HV98.M2 C66 1987/88

Humanities

Directory of grants in the humanities Ref AZ188.U5 D56 13th ed. 1999/2000
National guide to funding in arts and culture Ref NX711.U5 N37 1998 

Social Sciences

Making sense of federal dollars : a funding guide for social service providers Ref HV741 .D49 1994
National guide to funding in higher education Ref LB2336 .N38 1998
National guide to funding for information technology Ref T58.5 .N37 1997
National guide to funding for libraries and information services Ref Z683.2.U6 N38 1997
Big book of library grant money Ref Z683.2 .U6 B54 2002-03

Sciences

Community of Science Funding Opportunities
Environmental grantmaking foundations Ref GE80 .E58 2001

 

Return to the guides listing


deborah.rollins@umit.maine.edu | Revised: 01/25/2008


Home | Resources | Services | Search | Help | Site Map | Campus

Copyright 2000-2008, Raymond H. Fogler Library

The University of Maine logo