Fogler Library

Iraq

This is a selective guide to books, government documents, reports and web sites on various topics and issues related to  Iraq.  

Materials in Fogler Library

 Web Sites

On-line Resource Guides

 

Selected Fogler Library Holdings:  

Check URSUS for current status information.

Nation Building:

Braude, Joseph.  (2003).  The new Iraq: Rebuilding the country for its people, the Middle East and the world.  New York: Basic Books. 
DS 79.5 .B73 2003

Braude is a senior analyst and consultant on the Middle East and North Africa for Pyramid Research.  This book is based on numerous interviews with officials who served under Saddam Hussein, as well as Iraqi exiles by an American who specialized in Arabic and Islamic languages and culture throughout his education. 

Chesterman, Simon. (2004).  You, the people: The United Nations, transitional administration, and state-building.  New York: Oxford University Press.
JZ 6374 .C44 2004

Provides overview and analysis of some of the work performed by the UN in the process of working towards stable governments in territories such as Kosovo and East Timor, with a view towards the challenges faced in both Iraq and Afghanistan.

Dodge, Toby. (2003).  Inventing Iraq: The failure of nation building and a history denied.  New York: Columbia University Press.
DS 70.96 .G7 D633 2003

Dodge examines the origin of the Iraqi state in the aftermath of the First World War and the failure of the British to create a liberal state there in the 1920s and 1930s.

Record, Jeffrey.  (2004).  Dark victory: America's second war against Iraq.  Annapolis, MD: Naval Institute Press.
DS 79.76 .R43 2004

Record depicts the military victory in deposing Saddam Hussein as a technical success but questions both the case for invasion and the ability of the U.S. to carry out a reconstruction of Iraq as a model of democracy in the Middle East.

 to top

Media Coverage of War:

Downing, Malcolm and Beck, Sara, eds. (2003). The battle for Iraq: BBC news correspondents on the war against Saddam.  Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press. 
DS 79.76 .B38 2003

A collection of analysis pieces by a variety of BBC journalists, although one chapter is devoted to reports dispatched from reporters on the front lines.

Tumber, Howard.  (2004).  Media at war: The Iraq crisis.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
DS 79.76 .T86 2004

An account of the practices and implications of embedding journalists with military units to report directly on combat.

Military

Singer, P.W. (2003).  Corporate warriors: The rise of the privatized military industry.  Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press. 
HD 9743 .A2 S56 2003.

An analyst with the Brookings Institution, Singer has been covering the privatization of military services for the last ten years.

Strategic Studies Institute. (2003).  Why they fight:  Combat motivation in the Iraq War. Carlisle, PA: U.S. Army War College
D 101.146:2003021408  Also available electronically.

The 24 page report examines morale and motivation among current Army personnel in Iraq  Also includes a section on the relationship between embedded journalists and the military units they are reporting on.

Wright, Evan. (2004).  Generation kill: Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons.
DS79.76 .W75 2004

Zucchino, David. (2004). Thunder run: The armored strike to capture Baghdad.  New York: Atlantic Monthly Press.
DS79.76 .Z83

Wright and Zucchino both offer accounts of the military campaigns in the initial months of the invasion of Iraq.  Zucchino's account of the fall of Baghdad is based largely on interviews with members of the Third Infantry's 2nd Brigade.  Wright's book reports on the experiences of a Marine unit in Baghdad.

 to top

Treatment of Prisoners

The Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949. (1952-1960).  Geneva: International Committee of the Red Cross. 
JX5136 .A482 1949d (v. 1-4)

The landmark document created in the aftermath of the Second World War.

The United States and Europe

Pond, Elizabeth. (2004).  Friendly fire: The near-death of the transatlantic alliance.  Pittsburgh, PA: European Union Studies Association. 
UA23 .P549 2004

Pond argues that differences between the US and Europe over the invasion of Iraq are part of an overall trend exemplified in trade disputes, disagreement about the role of the United Nations, the International Criminal Court and approaches to international law.

 to top

Government Documents

Iraq, next steps: How can democratic institutions succeed in Iraq and the Middle East? : Hearing before the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighth Congress, first session, September 24, 2003 
Y 4.F 76/2:S.HRG.108-282Also available electronically

Just one of a number of hearings held by the Senate Foreign Relations Committee on the process of creating a stable democracy in Iraq.

Rebuilding Iraq. US General Accounting Office.  Washington, DC.
GA 1.2:GAO-03-792 R,  Also available electronically 

This report by the Government Accountability Office offers background about Iraq, discussion of issues such as peace, reconstruction, economic development and food aid.  Raises specific questions related to the oversight process and its impact on U.S. involvement in Iraq.

Magazines and Serials

Middle East Report. New York: Middle East Research Information Project. 

Although not focused solely on Iraq the Middle East Research Information Project and its quarterly Middle East Report offers a depth of reporting and analysis on issues in the Middle East.  The Fall 2004 issue will be devoted to developments in Iraq (check the current periodicals room on the first floor at Fogler). The online version also offers a summary listing of articles about Iraq.

 to top

Web sites

Arms Control Association --  Iraq: Documents, News and Analysis

Contains useful overviews of the issues of weapons of mass destruction, including fact sheets, interviews and chronologies of events leading up to the invasion of Iraq.

Guardian Unlimited -- Iraq

The electronic version of Britain's Guardian newspaper includes a special report on Iraq with links to analysis, key documents, weblogs, and guides to media, UN and US sites.

Institute for War and Peace Reporting (IWPR)  -- Iraq

The IWPR covers a number of conflict zones, including Iraq and Afghanistan.  Offers current Iraqi news sources, assessment of media issues in Iraq and links to information about the period of transitional law in Iraq.

Middle East Media Research (MEMRI) --  Iraq

MEMRI is a Washington, D.C.-based non-profit that offers direct translations of media reports from Middle Eastern media organizations into a number of languages, including English, German, French and Italian. The site also offers analysis of a variety of Middle East issues and has a section devoted to Iraq.

Saban Center for Middle East Policy (The Brookings Institution) -- Iraq War

Includes an index of statistical data on reconstruction and security issues in Iraq, which is updated 3 times a week.  Offers analysis and discussion of events in Iraq with attention to consideration of the policy implications.

 to top

Some Facts and Figures

Iraq Body Count

Attempts to track the number of civilian deaths in Iraq as reported by a variety of media sources.  Methods includes cross-checking and verification.

Costs of War

The cost calculator featured here keeps a running tally of the Pentagon's budget for 2003-2004.  It will cease its current calculation as of September 30, 2004 (the end of the fiscal year for the US government).  The site also offers comparison to other spending needs facing the public. 

US Military Deaths

A single (at this time) page graph which charts the occurrences of US military deaths in Iraq.

 to top

U.S. Congress, Committee on Government Reform, Minority Office -- Iraq on the Record

A report and database prepared by Congressional staff researchers for Rep. Henry Waxman catalogues 237 misleading statements by members of the Bush administration, including Cheney, Rice, Powell and Rumsfeld.  Includes an explanation of the study's methodology and definition of "misleading".

U.S. Department of State --  Iraq

Features fact sheets on Iraqi sovereignty, updates and information about reconstruction contracts in Iraq, links to the US Embassy in Iraq and Colin Powell's speeches and statements. 

Resource guides

University of Michigan Documents Center: Iraq War Debate - 2002/2004

The first section of this guide is devoted mainly to web site links.  Later parts of the guide are geared to University of Michigan students with restricted links to its own databases.  Fogler Library has a number of databases you can search for further information about these some of these topics.  The databases to use will depend on your particular interests.  Check with a librarian for suggestions about which databases to search. 

Open Directory Project: Iraq Conflict

This page of the directory categorizes several hundred web sites and pages in about 20-30 categories, including policy, military, and a collection of memorial links.

Political Resources on the Net: Republic of Iraq

Includes links to political parties, the interim Iraqi Constitution and the now disbanded Coalition Provisional Authority (CPA site to be maintained for historical purposes until June 30, 2005.)

 to top

ref.questions@library.umaine.edu | Revised: 01/25/2008


Home | Resources | Services | Search | Help | Site Map | Campus

Copyright 2000-2008, Raymond H. Fogler Library

The University of Maine logo