Skip Navigation

Special Collections | Native Americans in Maine

This is a guide to selected resources concerning Native American People in Maine that are located in the Special Collections Department or are available on the Internet.  These sources have been arranged into the following categories:

Be sure to consult URSUS for resources located elsewhere in Fogler Library


Bibliographies:

Maine Historical Society. The Indians of Maine and the Atlantic Provinces : a Bibliographical Guide, Being Largely a Selected Inventory of Material on the Subject in the Society's Library, Portland,  Maine Historical Society, 1977.
Maine Z 1209.2 U52 M257

Maine Historical Society. The Indians of Maine : a Bibliographic Guide. 4th edition. Portland,  Maine Historical Society, 1994.
Maine Z 1209.2 M2  I6 1994

Nelson, Eunice. The Wabanaki : an Annotated Bibliography of Selected Books, Articles, Documents about Maliseet, Micmac, Passamaquoddy, Penobscot Indians in Maine, Annotated by Native Americans. Cambridge, Mass.,  American Friends Service Committee; Orono, Me., 1982.
Maine Z 1210 A26 N44 1982

Maine State Library. Maine Indians : Topical Bibliography of Books in [the] Maine State Library. Augusta, Me.,  1977
St. Docs. L 69.8:In3/977

On-line Bibliographies:

Wabanaki and Abenaki Internet Resources http://gizmo.sad4.com/~ebartley/NativeAmericans/referencepage.html

The Davistown Museum Bibliographies http://www.davistownmuseum.org/bibliography.html

To top        

Biographies:

Eckstorm, Fannie H. Old John Neptune and Other Maine Indian Shamans. Orono, Me. : University of Maine at Orono [Press], 1980. (Previous ed.: Portland, Me. : Southworth-Anthoensen Press, 1945)
Maine E 99 P5 E3 1980

Maine Writers' Research Club. Maine Indians in History and Legends. Portland, Me. : Severn-Wylie-Jewett Co., c1952.
Maine E 78 M2 M35 1952

McBride, Bunny. Molly Spotted Elk : a Penobscot in Paris. Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c1995.
Maine E 99 P5 S755 1995

Metallak, Last of the Cooashaukes: With the Life of David Robbins, the Story of Molly Ockett, the Adventures of Lieut. Segar and the Killing of the Last Moose. Rumford, Me. : Printed by the Rumford publishing co., 1928.
Pamp 1604

Newell, Catherine S-C. Molly Ockett. Bethel, Me. : Bethel Historical Society, 1991, c1981.
Maine E 99 P52 N49 1991

Smith, Marion Whitney. Thoreau's West Branch Guides. Millinocket, Me. : printed by Ye Olde Print Shop ; 1971.
Maine F 27 P5 S66

Smith, Marion Whitney. Thoreau's Moosehead & Chesuncook guides. Millinocket, Me. : Ye Olde Print Shop, 1972.
Maine F 27 P5 S65

Sockabasin, Allen J. An Upriver Passamaquoddy. Gardiner, Me.: Tilbury House, 2007.
Maine E 99 P27 S53 2007

ssipsis. Molly Molasses & Me : a collection of living adventures. Brooks, Me. : Little Letterpress, Robin Hood Books, c1988.
Maine E 90 S73 A2 1988  

Wellman, Trina. Louis Francis Sockalexis : the Life-story of a Penobscot Indian. Augusta, Maine : Dept. of Indian Affairs, 1975.
St.Docs. I 36.10:So2/975

On-line Biographies:

Abenaki biographies http://www.avcnet.org/ne-do-ba/menu_his.shtml#biography

Visit with Henry Mitchell - Penobscot canoe maker http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/wpa/13151128.html

To top        

History - General:

Baker, Emerson W. Trouble to the Eastward : the Failure of Anglo-Indian Relations in Early Maine. 1986, c1987.
Maine E 78 M2 B34 1989

Calloway, Colin G. Dawnland Encounters : Indians and Europeans in Northern New England. Hanover : University Press of New England, c1991.
Maine E 99 A13 C354 1991 

Congdon, Isabelle P. Indian Tribes of Maine, with Particular Reference to Indian Activities in the Regions Around the Present Locations of Bath and Brunswick. Brunswick, Me., Brunswick Publishing Co.
Pamp 630

Cook, David S. Above the Gravel Bar : the Indian Canoe Routes of Maine. Milo, Me. : The Author, c1985. 
Maine  GV 776 M2 C65 1985

Eckstorm, Fannie Hardy, Papers
SpC MS 158
Finding aid available.

Favour, Edith. First Families : Woodland People of Maine and the Canadian Maritimes. Augusta : State of Maine Dept. of Educational and Cultural Services, Division of Curriculum, 1975.
St.Docs. E 21.10:F44/975

-------------- Indian Games, Toys, and Pastimes of Maine and the Maritimes. Bar Harbor, Me. : Robert Abbe Museum, 1974.
Maine E 98 G2 F3

Hitchner, Barbara Dunn, Papers
SpC MS 248
Finding aid available.

Leger, Mary Celeste. The Catholic Indian Missions in Maine (1611-1820). Washington, D.C. Catholic University of America, 1929.
Maine E 98 M6 L51 1929

Maine Writers' Research Club. Maine Indians in History and Legends. Portland, Me. : Severn-Wylie-Jewett Co., c1952.
Maine E 78 M2 M35 1952

Morrison, Kenneth M. The Embattled Northeast : the Elusive Ideal of Alliance in Abenaki-Euramerican Relations. Berkeley : University of California Press, c1984.
Maine E 99 A13 M67 1984

Nelson, Eunice. A Collection of Articles on Maine Indians. [Cambridge, Mass.] : American Friends Service Committee, 1983.
Maine Z 1210 A26 C64 1983

Nicholas, Andrea Bear. The Concept of Unity Among Indian Tribes of Maine, New Hampshire and New Brunswick: an Ethno-history. Bangor, Me. 1973?
Maine E 78 M2 B4

Procter, Ralph W. Report on Maine Indians. Prepared at request of Legislative Research Committee, September, 1942.
St.Docs. L 38.10:In2/942

Rolde, Neil. Unsettled past, unsettled future: the story of Maine Indians. Gardiner, Me.: Tilbury House, 2004.
Maine E 72 M2 R65 2004

Siegel, Beatrice. Indians of the Northeast Woodlands.  New York : Walker, 1992.
Maine Juv E78 E2 S53 1992

Sylvester, Herbert Milton. Indian Wars of New England. Boston : W.B. Clarke Company, 1910.
Maine E 82 S98 - 12 vols.

Vetromile, Eugene. The Abnakis and Their History. New York : J.B. Kirker, 1866.
Rare E 99 A1 V5 1866

------------------- Indian Good Book. New York, E. Dunigan & Brother, 1856.
Rare E 99 A13 V4

On-line History - General:

Abenaki Culture and History http://www.avcnet.org/ne-do-ba/menu_his.shtml

The People of the Dawnland http://gizmo.sad4.com/~ebartley/NativeAmericans/home.html

To top        

History - Penobscot:

Dillingham, Charles A. The Penobscots. Bangor: Record print, 19--?
Maine E 99 P5 P457

Dorr, Jason M. Changing Their Guardians : the Penobscot Indians and Maine Statehood, 1820-1849. Thesis (M.A.) in History--University of Maine, 1998.
Univ. 1998 D67

MacDougall, Pauleena M. The Penobscot Dance of Resistance: Tradition in the History of a People.  Durham, N.H.: University of New Hampshire Press, 2004.
Maine E 99 P5 M16 2004

Nicolar, Joseph. The Life and Traditions of the Red Man. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 2007.
Maine E 99 P5 N54 2007

Shay, Florence Nicola. A Brief History of the Penobscot Indians. [S.l., s.n., 19--]
Pamp 668

Speck, Frank Gouldsmith. Penobscot man; the Life History of a Forest Tribe in Maine. New York, Octagon Books, 1970.
Maine E 99 P5 S7 1970

-------------------------------  Collection of Photographs.
SpC MS 1431 sc

Treat, Joseph. Wabanaki Homeland and the New State of Maine. Amherst, Mass.: University of Massachusetts Press, 2007.
Maine E 99 A13 T748 2007

On-line History - Penobscot:

The Catholic Encyclopedia: Penobscot Indians http://www.knight.org/advent/cathen/11644a.htm 

To top        

History - Passamaquoddy:

Leader, Judith C. An Ethnohistory of the Passamaquoddy of Maine. Thesis (Ph.D.)--Boston University, 1995. 
Maine E 99 P27 L42 1995

Soctomah, Donald. Hard Times at Passamaquoddy, 1921-1950. Maine: Passamaquoddy Tribe of Indian Township, 2003.
Maine E 99 P27 S676 2003

To top        

History - Micmac and Maliseet:

Leavitt, Robert. Maliseet & Micmac : First Nations of the Maritimes. Fredericton, N.B. : New Ireland Press, c1995. 
Maine E 78 M35 L42 1995

 Prins, Harald E. L. Tribulations of a Border Tribe : a Discourse on the Political Ecology of the Aroostook Band of Micmacs (16th-20th centuries). Thesis (Ph.D.)--New School for Social Research, 1988.
Maine E 99 M6 P76 1990

On-line History - Micmac and Maliseet:

Micmac History  http://www.dickshovel.com/mic.html

To top        

History - Other:

Nash, Charles E. The Indians of the Kennebec. Hallowell, Me. : Valley Publishers, 1994.
Maine E 99 A13 N27 1994

Rogers, Hannah Lord. History of the Tarratine Tribe with Brief Sketches of the Other Indian Tribes of Maine.
Maine E 99 A13 H57

 Starbird, Charles Millard. The Indians of the Androscoggin Valley : Tribal History, and Their Relations with the Early English Settlers of Maine. [Lewiston, Me.] : Lewiston Journal Printshop, 1928.
Maine E 78 M2 S8 1928

To top        

Land Claims:

Brodeur, Paul. Restitution, the Land Claims of the Mashpee, Passamaquoddy, and Penobscot Indians of New England. Boston : Northeastern University Press, c1985.
Maine KF 8208 B76 1985

Maine. Dept. of the Attorney General. [Background documents on the Indian Land Claims Settlement] 
St. Docs. Box 30 

Pecoraro, Joseph. The Maine Indian Land Claims Case : Pro and Con. Augusta, Me.: Maine Dept. of Educational and Cultural Services, 1979.
St. Docs. E 21.10:M28/979

To top        

Genealogy:

Saint Gertrude's Church (Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada). A Copy of St. Gertrude's Church Record Book of the Malecite Indians at Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada From the Year 1842 to the Present Day, Being a Record of Births, Baptismals, Confirmations, Marriages, Deaths and Interments. 1993.
Folio Maine CS 88 N5 C66 1993

On-line Genealogy:

Native American Heritage http://www.NativeAmericanHeritage.com/

NNe-Do-Ba (Friends) http://www.avcnet.org/ne-do-ba/menu_gen.shtml/a>

To top        

Traditional Crafts:

Baskets of the Dawnland People. Calais, Me. : Project Indian Pride, [1980?] 
Maine E 78 M2 B3

Eckstorm, Fannie Hardy. The Handicrafts of the Modern Indians of Maine. Bar Harbor, Me. : Robert Abbe Museum, 2003. 
Maine E 78 M2 E3 2003

Hill, Judith Rose Lacadie. Survey of Materials and Construction Techniques of Maine Indian Splint Ash Baskets and Contemporary Interpretations. Thesis (M.S.) in Human Development--University of Maine, 1989.
Univ. 1989 H553

Konrad, Lee-Ann. Artists of the Dawn : Christine Nicholas and Senabeh. [Orono, Me.] : Northeast Folklore Society, c1987.
Maine E 99 P5 K65 1987

Lacey, Laurie. Micmac Medicines: Remedies and Recollections. Halifax, N.S. : Nimbus, 1993.
Maine E 99 M6 L35 1993

McBride, Bunny. Our Lives in our Hands : Micmac Indian Basketmakers. Gardiner, Me. : Tilbury House, c1990.
Maine E 99 M6 M3 1990

Speck, Frank Gouldsmith. Symbolism in Penobscot Art. New York, The Trustees, 1927. In Anthropological papers of the American Museum of Natural History, v. 29, pt. 2.
Maine GN 2 A27

To top        

Folklore and Music:

Alger, Abby Langdon. In Indian Tents. Boston : Roberts Brothers, 1897.
Maine E 99 P5 A39 1897  

Beck, Horace Palmer. Gluskap the Liar, & Other Indian Tales. Freeport, Me., B. Wheelwright Co. [c1966]
Maine E 99 P5 B4

Burlin, Natalie Curtis. The Indians' Book; an Offering by the American Indians of Indian Lore, Musical and Narrative, to Form a Record of the Songs and Legends of Their Race. New York and London, Harper, 1907.
Maine M 1669 B87 I5

Davenport, Linda Gilbert. Music Among the Contemporary Penobscot Indians. Thesis (M.Mus.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1977.
Maine ML 3557 D38 1977

Eckstorm, Fannie Hardy. The Indian Legends of Mount Katahdin. Reprinted from Appalachia number of Bulletin of Appalachia Mountain Club, December 1924.
Maine F 27 P5 E22

Historic Maine and Indian Mythology. [Consolidated Steamship Lines, 1906?].
Pamp 869

Ives, Edward D. Malecite and Passamaquoddy Tales. Orono, Me. : Northeast Folklore Society, 1964, c1965. 
Maine GR 1 N65 v.6 1964 

Leland, Charles Godfrey. The Algonquin Legends of New England : or, Myths and Folk Lore of the Micmac, Passamaquoddy, and Penobscot Tribes. Boston : Houghton, Mifflin, 1884.
Maine E 98 F6 L5

LeSourd, Philip S., ed. Tales from Maliseet Country: The Maliseet Texts of Karl V. Teeter. Lincoln, Neb.: University of Nebraska Press, 2007.
Maine E 99 M195 T35 2007

Maine Writers' Research Club. Maine Indians in History and Legends. Portland, Me. : Severn-Wylie-Jewett Co., c1952.
Maine E 78 M2 M35 1952

Smith, Marion Whitney.  Katahdin Fantasies : Stories Based on Old Indian Legends.  Millinocket, Me. : Millinocket Press, c1953.
Maine F 27 P5 S62

 ------------------------ Strange Tales of Abenaki Shamanism. Lewiston, Me. : Central Maine Press, c1963.
Maine E 99 P5 S6 

Speck, Frank Gouldsmith. Penobscot Shamanism. Lancaster, Pa., American Anthropological Association, 1919.
Maine E 99 P5 S718

Spotted Elk. Katahdin: Wigwam's Tales of the Abnaki Tribe... Orono, Me.: Maine Folklife Center, 2003.
Maine GR 1 N65 no. 37

On-line Folklore and Music:

Native American Lore Index Page  http://www.ilhawaii.net/~stony/loreindx.html

Passamaquoddy Literature  http://www.indians.org/welker/passquat.htm

MicMac Literature  http://www.indians.org/welker/micmac.htm

To top        

Language:

Eckstorm, Fannie Hardy. Indian Place-names of the Penobscot Valley and the Maine Coast. Orono, Me. : Printed at the University press, 1941.
Maine F17 E2

Masta, Henry Lorne. Abenaki Indian Legends, Grammar andPlace Names. Victoriaville, P. Q. : La Voix des boisfrancs, [1932].
Maine 970.398 Ab71m

Nitawi skicinuwatu = I Know How to Speak Indian. Book I, Passamquoddy/Maliseet. Perry, Me. : Passamaquoddy/Maliseet Bilingual Program, 1988?
Maine PM 2135 N57 1988

Passamaquoddy/Maliseet Reference Book. Perry, Me. : Passamaquoddy/Maliseet Bilingual Program, 1988.
Maine PM 2135 Z5 P27 1988

Rasles, Sebastien. A Dictionary of the Abnaki Language in North America. Cambridge, Mass. : C. Folsom, 1833. 
Maine PM551 R3 1974

To top        

The Special Collections Department is located on the third floor of The Raymond H. Fogler Library, University of Maine, and is open Monday, Thursday, Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Tuesday, Wednesday from 9:00 a.m. to 7 p.m.; and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 12 noon and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Hours when classes are not in session are Monday-Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 12 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 4 p.m. Please call the department at (207) 581-1686 or email spc@umit.maine.edu for further information.

 

Return to top level page

 


Special Collections Staff: spc@umit.maine.edu | Revised: 01/13/2014
5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729
Phone: 207-581-1661 | Fax: 207-581-1653
© Copyright 2000-2014
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
207-581-1865